• Melissa Makarewicz

Out Front the Following Sea

Updated: 7 hours ago

OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a historical epic of one woman’s survival in a time when the wilderness is still wild, heresy is publicly punishable, and being independent is worse than scorned—it is a death sentence. At the onset of King William’s War between French and English settlers in 1689 New England, Ruth Miner is accused of witchcraft for the murder of her parents and must flee the brutality of her town. She stows away on the ship of the only other person who knows her innocence: an audacious sailor—Owen—bound to her by years of attraction, friendship, and shared secrets. But when Owen’s French ancestry finds him at odds with a violent English commander, the turmoil becomes life-or-death for the sailor, the headstrong Ruth, and the cast of Quakers, Pequot Indians, soldiers, highwaymen, and townsfolk dragged into the fray. Now Ruth must choose between sending Owen to the gallows or keeping her own neck from the noose. Steeped in historical events and culminating in a little-known war on pre-American soil, OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a story of early feminism, misogyny, arbitrary rulings, persecution, and the treatment of outcasts, with parallels still mirrored and echoed in today’s society. The debut novel will appeal to readers of Paulette Jiles, Alexander Chee, Hilary Mantel, James Clavell, Bernard Cornwell, TaraShea Nesbit, Geraldine Brooks, Stephanie Dray, Patrick O’Brian, and E. L. Doctorow. REGAL HOUSE PRINT | AMAZON KINDLE

Soulful and hauntingly beautiful. This isn't a story, it's a journey. If you enjoy a story that doesn't follow a cookie-cutter path to perfection, you NEED to read this book.
At first I wasn't sure how I felt about this book. It isn't my "typical" regency read. However, once I was reading, I found myself falling head first into the adventure that was unfolding on each page. I'm looking forward to reading more books from Leah Angstman
OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA BY LEAH ANGSTMAN Publication Date: January 11, 2022 Regal House Publishing Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, Audiobook; 334 pages Genre: Historical / Literary / Epic **Shortlisted for the Chaucer Book Award**

About the Author Leah Angstman is a historian and transplanted Michigander living in Boulder. OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA, her debut novel of King William’s War in 17th-century New England, is forthcoming from Regal House in January 2022. Her writing has been a finalist for the Saluda River Prize, Cowles Book Prize, Able Muse Book Award, Bevel Summers Fiction Prize, and Chaucer Book Award, and has appeared in Publishers Weekly, L.A. Review of Books, Nashville Review, Slice, and elsewhere. She serves as editor-in-chief for Alternating Current and The Coil magazine and copyeditor for Underscore News, which has included editing partnerships with ProPublica. She is an appointed vice chair of a Colorado historical commission and liaison to a Colorado historic preservation committee. WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS | MEDIUM | ELLO | MAILING LIST


Blog Tour Schedule Monday, January 3 Guest Post at Novels Alive Review at Pursuing Stacie Review at Bookoholiccafe Excerpt at Books, Ramblings, and Tea Tuesday, January 4 Review at Chicks, Rogues and Scandals Wednesday, January 5 Review at Probably at the Library Thursday, January 6 Review at Reading is My Remedy Friday, January 7 Review at A Girl Reads Bookss Monday, January 10 Review, Excerpt + Interview at andreajanel_reads Tuesday, January 11 Review at Little But Fierce Book Diary Wednesday, January 12 Review at Novels Alive Thursday, January 13 Review at Books, Cooks, Looks Friday, January 14 Review at SJ Through the Looking Glass Monday, January 17 Review at 100 Pages a Day Tuesday, January 18 Excerpt at The Book Junkie Reads Wednesday, January 19 Review at Jessica Belmont Thursday, January 20 Review at Reading the Past Friday, January 21 Review at Books and Zebras Monday, January 24 Review at Bookworlder Tuesday, January 25 Review at Booking With Janelle Wednesday, January 26 Review at Rajiv’s Reviews Friday, January 28 Review at Michelle the PA Loves to Read Sunday, January 30 Review at A Darn Good Read Monday, January 31 Feature at CelticLady’s Reviews Review + Interview at Jorie Loves A Story Wednesday, February 2 Review at Donna’s Book Blog Friday, February 4 Review at Coffee and Ink Review at The Enchanted Shelf


Thank you for stopping by! Let me know what you have been reading and what you are looking forward to reading this next year.


Don't forget to enter the giveaway here. Good luck and happy reading! -Melissa

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All